The Stormwater Industry Association Ltd (Stormwater Australia) is an incorporated body under the National Corporations Act which is owned by each of the respective State Associations.  At the 2014 AGM a revised pdfSIA National Constitution  was adopted which recognises the importance of a skills based Board and allows representation of Sustaining Members.  At the 2018 AGM minor modifications were made in relation to number of Directors, tenure and quorum requirements. 

Board of Directors - 2018/2019

Alan Hoban

President & Director
Alan Hoban

Alan is a Director of Civil and Water at Bligh Tanner Pty Ltd, based in Brisbane. He is a civil and environmental engineer who has worked closely with government and industry to establish policy, planning frameworks and technical standards for better urban water management.

His expertise includes: integrated water management and water sensitive urban design (WSUD), policy and planning advice, infrastructure planning, development applications and approvals advice, waterway management, flood and stormwater studies, civil engineering and climate change strategies.His awards include the Gilbert Vasey Award in Agricultural Engineering, the Queensland Medal for Landscape Architecture (for the 'Flood of Ideas' community resilience-building project), and 'The AILA ' for his leadership of the Water by Design program.

Alan also cofounded Victoria's Flexicar car-share scheme and is a graduate of Social Leadership Australia. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Engineers, Australia and a sessional lecturer at various universities.He is a member of the Stakeholder Engagement Committee.

Peter Coombes

Deputy President, Treasurer & Director
Dr Peter Coombes

Peter J. Coombes is a director of Urban Water Cycle Solutions, Fellow of Engineers Australia and editor of the Urban Book of Australian Rainfall and Runoff.Peter was awarded the 2018 GN Alexander Medal by Engineers Australia for contributions to hydrology and water resources. He recently contributed to inquiries into stormwater management and Water Resources by the Australian Senate and Productivity Commission, and was a chief scientist in the Victorian Government.

Peter has held senior academic positions at the University of Newcastle, Melbourne University and Swinburne University. He has experience in change processes in government and development of government policy.His professional and research interests include systems thinking and analysis, hydrology, water resources, economics, molecular sciences, water quality and public policy.

More information can be found at 

Ann Shaw Rungie

Ann Shaw Rungie

Ann has a background in consulting, business ownership, and board appointments with a strong focus on governance, foresight and infrastructure planning, particularly in the water sector. This includes state wide, regional and national reviews and strategies. She has a strong understanding of the water reform process around Australia, including stormwater management.

Ann has held a range of appointments to various statutory boards and commissions, mainly public policy and water related. She also has extensive experience in infrastructure planning and strategy in complex regulatory environments around Australia and is a recognised leader, awarded by industry peers.

darren drapper

Secretary & Director
Dr Darren Drapper 

Darren Drapper is an MBA-qualified Environmental Engineer, with Bachelor degree and PhD in Environmental Engineering focussing on water, stormwater and wastewater.  Darren has 22 years of experience across manufacturing industries, consulting, government and research/academia. He experience spans water quality, water/wastewater/stormwater treatment, harvesting & water balance, monitoring & research programs, Water Sensitive Urban Design in construction. He has researched, designed, constructed and monitored WSUD stormwater treatment measures across Australia and internationally. He was President of Stormwater Queensland from 2017, until recently accepting a Role on the Stormwater Australia Board.

Darren has a keen interest in all aspects of stormwater management including water quantity as well as quality, and actively promoting the good work our industry often delivers, and promptly buries underground.

An avid fisherman, bushwalker, mountain biker and 4wd fan, Darren's love of the outdoors has led to his introduction of an innovative, self-cleaning technology to retain the solids from sewer overflows.

Megh Thakkar

Meghraj Thakkar

Meghraj (Megh) has over 25 years of experience working for clients in numerous industries including
telecommunications, banking, transport, software, education, aviation, media and government.He
has worked in Australia, Europe, Canada, UK, Singapore, China, India and USA. He has a portfolio
career comprising of Board Director, Executive Technical Advisor, Gateway Reviewer, Consultant and

Megh has worked as a technical director, development manager, architect, designer and developer of numerous successful software products. He also has experience in customer relationship management in a number of capacities, ranging from contract management to solutions delivery.

National Member Committee representatives - 2018-19

New South Wales

  • Alan Benson
  • Beth Salt


  • David Simpson

South Australia

  • Andrew King
  • Brett Shuttleworth


  • Sarah Watkins
  • Chris Beardshaw

Western Australia

  • Helen Brookes
  • Bill Till